The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Grooming (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-grooming/)
-   -   A few grooming questions (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-grooming/few-grooming-questions-2984/)

cjncowgurl 08-18-2007 09:05 PM

A few grooming questions

Ok, well I am new to horses and I was given a stud who is about 4 or 5. It took 7 days for me to be able to hose him down without a lead rope. He did that for me today! Progress.....lol He loves to drink from the spray nozzle so when he lets me spray him I let him drink. He makes this funny lip curling face when he does. Can anyone explain that one to me? Next, I try to brush him but he wants to bite the brush. I was told to let him smell it and when I try to let him he tries to bite it everytime. He'll let me brush by his chest and front flanks but no where else. Any tips? On to the next one....bathing....he will not let me bathe him. As soon as I get near him with the sponge he walks off. I know I probably sound stupid with these questions but this is my first horse so I am still learning. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks to everyone,
Nikki

karkar27 08-19-2007 03:40 AM

your questions

well the curling of his lip is called flehmen... it can be caused bu many things... when a stallion licks, sniffs or touching a in season mare... but also can be caused by sour, strong or unusual tastes and smells... mayb its juz coz the spray of the water on his lip mayb it tickles him...

mabe you shuld tie him up for grooming so he cant turn his head and must stay still

and when he walks of with this one try also tying him up so he has to be still and not walk away.

friesian_lover 08-19-2007 01:56 PM