The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   New to Horses (http://www.horseforum.com/new-horses/)
-   -   Horse Backing Up Instead of Going Forward?! (http://www.horseforum.com/new-horses/horse-backing-up-instead-going-forward-298850/)

ColonialButterChurner 10-21-2013 10:04 AM

Horse Backing Up Instead of Going Forward?!

:shock:So, I'm relatively new to horses (4-5 months) and own 2 TWH. My 4 yo TWH is a real sweetheart and I'm sure it is rider error. MY TWH are also buddy and barn sour, which I have been aware of and working to address. Recently, my 4yo TWH is backing up when urged to move forwards. Why is she doing this? What can this inexperienced newbie do to correct it? She was also extending her neck and doing a weird thing with her mouth/lips? Was the saddle cinched too tight, ya think?

I have another TWH mare (12 yo) who absolutely refuses to enter the trail. I'm at a complete loss with her. I know it must be me. I lack confidence and when my horses "disagree" with me, I find myself getting nervous and uncertain. I know, grow some b@ll$.

I know that I need a lot of saddle time to build up my confidence. Any tips for new rider appreciated. I do practice ground work 2-3 times weekly.

Speed Racer 10-21-2013 10:11 AM

You need an instructor. A horse backing up is basically giving you the finger. It's not quite as dangerous as rearing, but it could escalate into even worse behavior if it's not addressed by someone who isn't afraid of your horses.

tinyliny 10-21-2013 10:25 AM

Yeah, it does sound like your newness to horses is what is making for the horses being able to get away with this bad behavior. I would agree that a real live instructor is your best bet for now.

ColonialButterChurner 10-21-2013 10:28 AM

Thanks!

DuffyDuck 10-21-2013 10:30 AM

Instructor, saddle, back, teeth.

4 year old horses have a lot of teeth changes, and aside from taking the watsit out of you, she may actually have pain.