The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Talk (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-talk/)
-   -   From riding horse to... (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-talk/riding-horse-30271/)

MA01 06-24-2009 05:15 PM

From riding horse to...

Hello Everyone:-)
So, I'm not really an expert when it comes to horses, and I was wondering something.
When it comes to that time when I want/am able to buy horses, I want a group of horses grassing on a large area, where I'll then take them in for the night and then out again in the morning.
But my question for you guys is, is it okay to buy a good riding horse for those purposes?
I mean i could lounge the horses a couple of times a week so they'll get some exercise as well, and maybe let them pull a wagon.
And I don't know if those owners of the horses will let me buy their horse either, if it's a good ridig horse too, for only those purposes.
So is it okay?
Thanks,
From MA01.

PS; You don't entirely dry your horse when bathing it, do you?

BackInTheSaddleAgain 06-24-2009 05:22 PM

This is something I would love to do one day, too. I'm hoping to take in older, retired horses and just let them relax and love the rest of their life in the pasture. Them, or horses who maybe have a leg injury and cannot be ridden/ridden hard.
As for dying a horse.... no. I use a sweat scraper to get excess water off. It's like a squeegee =} http://www.countrysupplies.com/pix/1...cts/1668-m.jpg
Some people prefer to keep them tied until they dry. Many horses go straight for a roll in the dirt after a bath.... keeps the flies from biting. lol

MA01 06-24-2009 05:26 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by BackInTheSaddleAgain (Post 335024)
This is something I would love to do one day, too. I'm hoping to take in older, retired horses and just let them relax and love the rest of their life in the pasture. Them, or horses who maybe have a leg injury and cannot be ridden/ridden hard.