The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Hoof Care (http://www.horseforum.com/hoof-care/)
-   -   What to do when you can't find a farrier... (http://www.horseforum.com/hoof-care/what-do-when-you-cant-find-303218/)

teamfire 10-29-2013 02:03 AM

What to do when you can't find a farrier...

Things were so much easier before when I knew nothing.

I can't find a single farrier that will do a proper trimming job. Found a few nearby names but no, won't go to my city. I'm new to the horse world so I don't have a lot of connections...

So frustrating. I thought my horse's bodyworker, who is AMAZING at that, would have a couple good names... nope. Is it really so impossible here?

I think I may have to learn to trim myself, but I'm terrified. I'd honestly pay someone extra to travel further, but there's no one I can find. It's so frustrating I get near tears thinking about it.

But preparing myself... if I were to start to learn... how do I start? I know nothing. I know enough to say something's wrong but not much more than that... UGHHH.

Clava 10-29-2013 07:24 AM

Can you work your horse? Can you take him over rough terrain and roads? My horses need almost no trimming as they are regularly worked on roads and grow enough hoof to keep up with the work load, this could help you keep on top of things until you can find help. Education is everything and you will need to learn about diet as much as trim and movement, but I would never advocate a complete novice doing their own trimming but with help it is something you could learn (if you need to). Horses can do a lot of the hoof balancing themselves if given the chance and the correct diet and movement.

SEAmom 10-29-2013 08:09 AM

One of the easiest ways to get names and opinions is to find a local Facebook group and pose the question.
Posted via Mobile Device

DancingArabian 10-29-2013 08:30 AM

Do you have a trailer? You might be able to make arrangements to meet a farrier somewhere.
Posted via Mobile Device