The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   English Riding (http://www.horseforum.com/english-riding/)
-   -   Stopping a bolting horse...advice anyone? (http://www.horseforum.com/english-riding/stopping-bolting-horse-advice-anyone-30402/)

Bia 06-26-2009 01:09 PM

Stopping a bolting horse...advice anyone?

OK I had another fall. I was riding a horse who had only had one riding lesson done on him, the day before when my friend rode him. She had no problem. I got off the lunge line with him before that everything was great. I started walking him along the fence and turning him, etc he was totally awesome. I was so proud. Well then we went down to the one side of the arena and it slopes down a little. My riding instructor asked me to pick up a trot and instead the horse (lets call him Joe) went straight into a canter, the reins slipped through my hands because he threw his head down. He has no mane and I'm still a beginner rider, only riding a few times on exracehorses. I havent even really developed a post on them yet. I had nothing to really hold onto and so I paniced and grabbed his neck, hoping to stay on which I did for once around the arena. Then he spead up more into a slow gallop and I really lost my grip and fell into the fence.

So what I'm asking is can anyone give me advice on how to prevent this from happening and how to stay on when this happens? Also, how do I stop this when it happens. I know I should sit up but I freeze.

GypsyTally921 06-26-2009 01:19 PM

Is this horse green? If you're a beginner rider and haven't even developed a post yet, it's extremely dangerous to be riding a green horse.