The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Natural Horsemanship (http://www.horseforum.com/natural-horsemanship/)
-   -   Lunging (http://www.horseforum.com/natural-horsemanship/lunging-306514/)

amgThoroughbreds 11-03-2013 08:01 PM

Lunging

I have a young colt(gelding) that I have been doing natural horsemanship with since he was 9 months old. He is now 19 months old and I've introduced lunging for some exercise. Our sessions are very short, no more than 15 minutes at a time. I use a 15 foot rope with my rope halter. He never reaches the end of it though. He can walk, trot, canter both directions. Stops and stands until I cue him to go. He is perfect until I try to send him out a little further away from me. Its like once I try to push him out, we loose the connection. He'll just start to act up. He doesn't try to invade my space or anything. He just likes being close.
What are some ways I could go about getting him to move out?

oh vair oh 11-03-2013 08:15 PM

Round pen work will help him get out away from you. Also, one-rein driving.

And you can start out at a walk and feed out the rope, I usually reinforce a cue by driving out the shoulder. You walk them until they are confident being further away from you, then move on to the trot/canter when they are confident. You might also take him out on unfamiliar territory and really test his skills about how good he is close to you.

Using these tactics, my 18 month old shows longeline (all three gaits, a stop and reverse) on a 25 ft rope and one-rein drives down the trail. Hope this helps!

loosie 11-05-2013 10:53 PM

Hi,

Firstly BTW, I wouldn't be exercising your horse on a circle, especially at that age. While it's great for training, lunging for exercise is hard on the joints.