The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Riding Critique (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding-critique/)
-   -   critique my horrid jumping..... (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding-critique/critique-my-horrid-jumping-30758/)

Flyinghigh12 07-01-2009 06:07 PM

critique my horrid jumping.....

So I had made this video just for fun, and I know I had a horrible time jumping, like I got one good jump in there.

I've finally decided that maybe it would be ok if you guy's would critique it for me and help me find a stratege to help me jump better.

Like what should I be thinking about when I approach a jump, and by watching the video u'll know what I need to work on.

Thanks again!

http://i174.photobucket.com/albums/w...h_epicfail.jpg

jchunterjumper 07-01-2009 07:09 PM

I am not good at critiquing and this video was hard to critique, but the one thing that really stood out was that you were not staying across your horse while jumping. you can see in the video that your butt would hit down when your horses back feet cleared the jump. Just think about closing your hip angle (sticking your butt out) and holding yourself there all the way across the jump and even a stride after in the beginning to really feel yourself stay down

MyBoyPuck 07-01-2009 09:14 PM

Your overall position is pretty good. Your back is flat, eyes are looking ahead, back is flat and lower leg is stable. For some reason, you seem out of sync with his jumps. Your lower leg stays solid, but your hips don't seem to follow. Maybe you could try trotting a series of poles or cavelletti (even if it's just milk crates and logs) and stay in two point the entire time so you can focus on keeping your hips relaxed so you can better follow or rather absorb his motion. good luck.

Flyinghigh12 07-02-2009 03:43 AM

Hmm both you guy's have great idea's!