The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Health (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-health/)
-   -   Can horses just have "off" days? (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-health/can-horses-just-have-off-days-30791/)

madisonfriday 07-02-2009 09:41 AM

Can horses just have "off" days?

I'm new to horse ownership so maybe I am freaking out,

I went to ride Hero two nights ago and his trot was off. Just short and choppy on the front end...now all the horses got into the clover patch and had a bit of a tummy upset but would this effect his riding??

Maybe he pulled something the night before? :?

anyways I didnt get on him the past few nights just worked with his fear of wash stalls and flyspray...
I got him in and out of the wash stall twenty times, so I think I'm going to start hosing his legs off with cold water if this "offness" continues

as for the fly spray it took a long time..he'll run around in circles as soon as you spray him..hes a ottb as soon as I put that stud chain on he didnt budge - guess thats what it takes..

Any ways just wondering if they can have off days what can cause it?
His legs are fine, stretched, not hot or swollen.

Vidaloco 07-02-2009 10:32 AM

Sure they can :-) My mare will have off days when she just isn't her usual sweet self. So do I :wink:
Just FYI, put water in the spray bottle till he gets used to the sensation. That way you aren't wasting fly spray.

madisonfriday 07-02-2009 10:42 AM

you mean physically?

I just hope he isnt going lame maybe he just pulled something

but im giving a few days off and workin in desensitizing since he was a little limpy

G and K's Mom 07-02-2009 10:56 AM

Being "off" is one thing, being "limpy" is something else. If he is indeed lame you might want to investigate why. A call to a vet may be in order.

madisonfriday 07-02-2009 11:07 AM

well they got into some clover, they all had upset tummys. my friends horse rode fine except for the drooling EVERYwhere