The Horse Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

Acceptable to use a Caller for First Level?

2K views 9 replies 9 participants last post by  existentialpony 
#1 ·
I had a lesson with a PSG rider last weekend on Estrella, and she recommended that we do two First level tests for her first dressage show in December. Now, I've ridden tests on my eventer through eventing Training level, and they don't come close to the complexity of the first level tests I'm studying. Though I will obviously do my best to know the tests as well as I should, would it be frowned upon to use a Caller for first level tests? I have clinicked with the judge before (she's very active in USPC), so I could ask her, but I'm looking for your opinions. Yay or nay for a caller?
Posted via Mobile Device

#4 ·
I had the same experience as Candie. My advice is to memorize your tests, and if you use a caller, make sure they know how and when to call the tests - practice with them until you are happy with their timing. Its disconcerting when the caller gives directives too late or early. My first experience with a caller was at my first show with my 2nd horse, and her timing seemed way off. It seriously messed me up (my fault for not practicing this) and I never used one again.

It is legal, so no worries there.

#5 ·
I actually never used a caller when I rode tests but I'm somewhat hard of hearing and the effort it would take for my pea sized brain to concentrate on the caller's voice would have left me with little for actually navigating through the test. I've seen riders who don't use a caller for a test they know well but will turn around and ride the next test with a caller as they're unsure of that test. But you know yourself best - perhaps a caller the first time to see if it works for you and then go from there???

Best of the luck with your tests.

#6 ·