The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Training (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-training/)
-   -   Training a young horse (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-training/training-young-horse-31561/)

RatherBeRiding 07-13-2009 11:05 PM

Training a young horse

My next door neighbour has recently got a 3 and a half year old QH mare and i personally do not think she is ready for her . although the horse is quite placid , she is young and can get frisky and the girl doesnt know much about training a young horse . I thought about not getting involved but i cant stand around and watch this girl hurt the poor horse and getting angry every time she goes a little wild :( it is sad .... i havee been to ride the horse and when i ride her she is fine . i have been riding and having lessons for 5 years but this girl has only been having lessons for 2-3 years , also everyone i talk to says that this girl ruined a horse she leased as she rode her very badly ... she pulls on her horse and her old leased pony freaquently and yells at them when they do not do exactly what she wants.
me and my friend (who has been riding for thee same amount of time as me) want to help train the horse but the girl who owns her gets angry and says "she is going fine i dont need help from anyone!!!" when everyone can see she isnt

we need some advice about the training of the horse ... and what we can do to reason with this girl ... she is our friend but she doesnt listen to us ... should we just give it up and let her ruin this poor pony ?? wee need your advicee

any help is great :)

thankyou

Spastic_Dove 07-13-2009 11:17 PM

Really, there's not too much you can do. If you are friends, you could offer to help without saying she is doing it wrong but in the end, unless the horse is being legitimately abused or neglected, I can't see you having any options to stop her from training her horse.

PaintHorseMares 07-13-2009 11:24 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Spastic_Dove (Post 349863)