The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Jumping (http://www.horseforum.com/jumping/)
-   -   Jumping Advice (http://www.horseforum.com/jumping/jumping-advice-31742/)

RideroftheWind 07-16-2009 10:55 AM

Jumping Advice

I take lessons at this stable, and unfortunatly :cry: I don't own my own horse. I ride the school horses. I am usually pretty decent at jumping (I've jumped 3 ft.) but now I'm having trouble with combonations.
I recently started riding a school horse named Pebbles. My mistake? Making her my favourite pony. Really, I can't help loving her! So, naturally, I'd ride her. But that's the problem. She's not the easiest horse to ride. Lets just say I'm the only kid at my barn who wants to ride her. She's really strong, and tends to speed up when I trot or canter her. She's a lovely jumper, and with single jumps, we're great. But once she starts combonations, she just want to keep going faster and faster, until what should've been 3 strides becomes 1 huge stride.
My last lesson, I fell off during a tripple combonation twice :cry: and nearly fell off three times. I'm still determined to keep riding Pebbles and keep working on my jumps, so I'd be really greatful for any jumping advice.

goldilockz 07-16-2009 11:00 AM

Well, I'm not the greatest jumper, and only jumped a few times a few years ago, but I can tell you that patience and determination will get you very far. I think it's awesome that you are so willing to work on a horse that is kind of difficult for you. It will build your confidence and teach you more than you can learn on a horse that has autopilot!

Good luck!

RideroftheWind 07-16-2009 11:52 AM

Yep, I guess practice makes perfect (:

FoxyRoxy1507 07-16-2009 11:59 AM