The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Western Riding (http://www.horseforum.com/western-riding/)
-   -   Follow up to: Lesson on a WP horse UGH! (http://www.horseforum.com/western-riding/follow-up-lesson-wp-horse-ugh-31899/)

loveverythinghorses 07-18-2009 11:52 AM

Follow up to: Lesson on a WP horse UGH!

The quality of the video isn't great and I am sorry for that, my camera's not that good.
Also after looking at it on screen, she's not 4 beating as it was suggested, she is loping, I'm just having trouble trying to get in sync with her. Her headset could be lower but bear in mind I am still learning. Please don't slam me or the horse she's a tolerant teacher and I'm still learning.

jxclass19 07-18-2009 12:04 PM

You dont look to bad the main thing I see is you need to get you legs back but that will feel really wierd at first. But it will make it easier in the long run.

loveverythinghorses 07-18-2009 12:24 PM

Thank you! I will keep that in mind when I ride next.

masatisan 07-18-2009 06:08 PM

You look like you're trying really hard. You almost seem to be trying too hard, you just need to relax your legs so you can feel her sides.

Try doing some deep breathing and leg and arm stretches at the walk (during warm-up), so you can loosen up your muscles for jogging and loping (and as a bonus, stretching while riding will calibrate your balance and help you feel more self-aware as you ride).

Barrelracer Up 07-18-2009 06:42 PM

Is it me, or is the mare flipping leads in the rear? I know for a fact that is really uncomfortable and is hard to ride.

If she is it may be her thing or it will improve as you improve your balance and seat.

Barrelracer Up 07-18-2009 06:43 PM

I looked again.....she's all over the place with the rear leads.

loveverythinghorses 07-18-2009 07:39 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Barrelracer Up (Post 354215)
I looked again.....she's all over the place with the rear leads.