The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Talk (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-talk/)
-   -   Is this reasonable? (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-talk/reasonable-32486/)

Current Displeasure 07-26-2009 08:35 AM

Is this reasonable?

A nineteen year old girl at my barn claims to be a horse psychic. She massaged one of the stallions who is known to be wily and tempermental, and she put him right to sleep. I wanted Colby to be as relaxed as he, so I asked her how much she was charging. "Three hundred and fifty dollars an hour," She told me. She also offered no half-hour sessions, no refunds, and no discounts.

I'm not an expert on equine massage, but her prices sounded unreasonable to me. How much do you think a massage should cost, if it is a one-hour session? How much would YOU pay?

Like I said - her methods put horses to sleep; it must work.

PaintHorseMares 07-26-2009 08:45 AM

Equine messages go for about $60/horse around here.

Current Displeasure 07-26-2009 08:50 AM

Oh wow. See what I mean about unreasonable?!

Jake and Dai 07-26-2009 08:57 AM

That sounds awfully insane to me.

Bronco Hollow 07-26-2009 12:02 PM

I just don't buy into the horse psychic thing at all ~ JMO I know a lot of folks that do.

60 to 70 bucks for a session here of massage or chiropractic.
BTW whenever I have either work on our horses, it relaxes them so they do appear to be asleep. I wouldn't consider any psychic-ness about it...

Tennessee 07-26-2009 12:53 PM

The girl that does our horses is $50 a session. $40 for multiple horses.

PassionHorse 07-26-2009 12:53 PM

I don't think we have a horse massager around here, but I would never pay that much.

Brighteyes 07-26-2009 01:00 PM

Not to be ignorant or anything, but what exactly does a horse masseuse do? I have a leather pillow type thing that I massage my horse with sometimes, is it similar?

Oh, and I think that no massage is worth that much. 50/60 bucks sure, but not that much...

TroubledTB 07-27-2009 04:32 PM