The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Health (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-health/)
-   -   Feed Through Fly Control (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-health/feed-through-fly-control-32963/)

Liberty Valance 08-01-2009 03:51 PM

Feed Through Fly Control

I'm considering feed-through pest controls.

At the moment I only have 2 horses, but we're going to purchase another one shortly. I've never used feed-throughs before, but I'm about fed up with the topical treatments. The water-based stuff is about worthless and the pyrethrin/citronella stuff, even though they work and last for several days, makes my horses all flaky (like dandruff) and gross. They feel greasy, too. Right now the horses are looking better than they ever have. They're all shiny and their muscles are all ripply. Everyone comments on how good they look. I have police horses (we all own our own horses), so they're out in public all the time, and of course everybody wants to pet them and love on them. The chemical fly sprays that work are greasy, attract dirt, and what's worse, it leaves a residue on people's hands, especially the kids (and then the kids don't wash and put their fingers near their mouths, etc). It can also get people's clothes dirty. It's kinda embarassing sometimes when it's really hot and you have to lay on the spray...people expect the police horses to be clean and tidy...and they are! But they don't seem like it cuz of all that nasty fly spray goo that gets all over. I have used every fly spray out there: Bug Block, Wipe, Wipe II, Bronco, Tri-Tec 14, Flys Off, Pyrahna, Ultra Shield, Green Shield (whatever that Absorbine green is), Super Shield Red (liked that one the best but they don't make it anymore in the gallon!), generic, the black and yellow bottle, the orange bottle, and about a million others.