The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Health (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-health/)
-   -   How often do you clean your mare's udders? (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-health/how-often-do-you-clean-your-33035/)

CloudsMystique 08-02-2009 02:56 PM

How often do you clean your mare's udders?

I had heard that you're supposed to clean them every six months, but I have to clean my mare's every week, and every week they look like they haven't been cleaned in a year. That isn't normal, is it?

Jillyann 08-02-2009 03:00 PM

Hmm, I am not sure if that is normal. I just clean my mares when ever I give her a bath. Usually a few times a year.

kitten_Val 08-02-2009 03:25 PM

I start cleaning about every couple weeks May - Sept. Some times they are rather clean, some times like I didn't clean for months. :D I think it depends a lot on a weather too.

tempest 08-02-2009 04:18 PM

I've done it once since I started riding her, and when I did she gave me a "What in the world are you doing?" look.

Walkamile 08-02-2009 04:24 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by kitten_Val (Post 367170)
I start cleaning about every couple weeks May - Sept. Some times they are rather clean, some times like I didn't clean for months. :D I think it depends a lot on a weather too.

Have to agree!

luvs2ride1979 08-02-2009 08:22 PM

It just depends on how much oils they produce in their skin and what kind of living conditions they're in. If you're in a dusty area and she sweats a lot or produces a lot of oils on her skin, then she's going to get "gunky" more quickly.

I check my mare every time and groom her and clean as needed. I'll just pull/rub gunk off with my hands. When I give her a bath, I'll use soap. Using too much soap or sheath cleaner can actually make her skin produce more oils, so you might try just cleaning her with water for a while if you normally use soap.

Appyt 08-02-2009 11:55 PM