The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Riding Critique (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding-critique/)
-   -   Jumping Critiques Wanted (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding-critique/jumping-critiques-wanted-33402/)

PoohLP 08-07-2009 03:14 PM

Jumping Critiques Wanted

Hi everyone. I'd love any critiques of my jumping and flat work. I just started riding again in January after 10-15 years of not riding (finances :( ). So here is me last weekend doing a couple of courses and my first time trying a dressage test. (I rode hunters as a kid.)

Course 1:

This was our first course. After he popped over that 8th jump, my stirrup got lodged under the arch of my foot and I lost my seat/control, so I circled to get everything back together before the final jumps.

Course 2:

I'd gone up a hole on my stirrups and that gave me a lot more control. The circle in the middle was me forgetting where my next jump was...oops!

Flat:

morganshow11 08-07-2009 04:47 PM

Your legs are pushed back when you are lumping, they should b forward

AussieDaisyGirl 08-07-2009 07:15 PM

Considering how long it's been since you've ridden, you did pretty darn well. I agree with your leg position being too far back. Your hands are a little shaky but nothing terrible. That's all I can see. You look good!

PoohLP 08-08-2009 06:01 PM

Thanks. Anyone else. I know it is hard to see, but any feed back is appreciated!

MyBoyPuck 08-08-2009 08:29 PM

For the dressage, use the corners more. Practice riding squares. Your horse appears to be bracing against the bit a little, and he's behind your leg a little and not tracking up in the trot. Add some impulsion and I'll be he steps nicely into the bit. You'll fix both things at the same time.

Jumping looks good to me other than what other said about the lower leg needing the be at the girth. I like watching hunter riders. They just want to get there!

PoohLP 08-09-2009 02:41 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by MyBoyPuck (Post 372822)