The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   English Riding (http://www.horseforum.com/english-riding/)
-   -   Cross discipline English show attire (http://www.horseforum.com/english-riding/cross-discipline-english-show-attire-334594/)

kiltsrhott 12-27-2013 12:54 AM

Cross discipline English show attire

I have always ridden and competed hunters as my only English discipline. I own black, zip-up Ariat field boots, a large collection of tan knee-patch breeches for show, as well as some other colours for schooling. I have three hunt coats (tan, dark navy, and brown). I have white, light blue, light pink and light orange show shirts. I have a dark havanna all purpose saddle and a standard English bridle. I show in a single-joinded D ring snaffle. The only way I know how to braid is hunter braids.

I plan to get into dressage, jumping and possibly eventing come spring. Lessons are anticipated to begin in April. I have zero prior experience in these disciplines, except a handful of dressage lessons.

What I want to know, is what colours of breeches, boots, jackets and shirts are acceptable in these disciplines. Would I be able to use any of my current attire in any of these disciplines? Are hunter braids acceptable or should I learn a different style of braid? Is an all purpose saddle acceptable for use in dressage if I plan to compete? What kinds of saddle pads are most widely used? Would my white, contoured fleece be okay? Any information you can give on the differences in show presentation between these disciplines would be helpful! Thanks!

alexischristina 12-27-2013 01:05 AM