The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Driving (http://www.horseforum.com/driving/)
-   -   Lola will become a cart-pony yet! (http://www.horseforum.com/driving/lola-will-become-cart-pony-yet-33486/)

Brighteyes 08-09-2009 12:18 AM

Lola will become a cart-pony yet!

Well, a long, long time ago I posted a rant full of capital letters that Lola was being given away. Well, after lots of tears and depression, I have stuck up a deal with my mom. If I can turn Lola into something useful that doesn't involve riding I MAY be able to keep her.

Well, lots of people suggested I teach her to drive, which is a great idea! Plus, if it turns out my mom only said that so I would stop sobbing like a heart-broken thirteen year old, she would get a good home.

This brings me to the topic of this post; how do I teach her to drive anyway? I have no experience at all which this kind of thing. What is the first step? Explain to me 'kindergarten style', please.

Once again, I'm really happy I have made progress. Lola will remain mine yet!

Sunny06 08-09-2009 12:23 AM

I taught my pony to 'drive', but really he just pulls the red flyer wagon around. :D I made my own harness of junk, but it works.
Pull the wagon around her and get her used to it, keep her near in etc. Have her 'pull' something behind her like a blanket or piece of cardboard that will make noise so she can get used to the sound and something behind her.

More experienced 'driving people' will give you better advice, I'm sure, but make sure to get her used to stuff behind her.

CheyAut 08-10-2009 01:17 AM

What's the story on Lola? Is she a sane, calm, tractable horse? Driving is much more dangerous than riding, so if the reason she can't be ridden is due to unpredictablility or something along those lines, dont' drive her, either.