The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Training (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-training/)
-   -   Groundwork ideas (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-training/groundwork-ideas-33686/)

boxer 08-11-2009 10:47 PM

Groundwork ideas

Hi everyone,

I'm just wondering what everyone her does for groundwork with there horses as I am just learning. My mare doesn't have any huge behavioural issues but I would like her to have more respect for me as the alpha and for us to have a closer bond. I have learnt about making her back up if she does the wrong thing and this has been working well with personal space issues. She also has learnt to stand and ground tie but still needs more work on this. She also lunges well but does not always listen as well as she should. I have read about a method for teaching her to drop her head and I'm going to try this tomorrow and then I'm going to try so flexing from side to side. I'm also going to try to get her to move as soon as I ask and really start listening to me and following my body (although this will involve me learning as much as her lol).

What do you all do?

Just as a note, although I respct those who do join up I myself do not follow this principle so I hope no-one tries to push this upon me.

Spirithorse 08-11-2009 10:50 PM

I do Parelli. You start in Level 1 which is very basic, getting respect and control and working your way up to Level 4 which is very complex and high level maneuvers. I work a horse online and at Liberty in Levels 1-4.

boxer 08-11-2009 11:00 PM

Can you explain what some of the things you do are?

Spirithorse 08-11-2009 11:11 PM