The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Training (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-training/)
-   -   Beginner.. (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-training/beginner-33984/)

kandice 08-15-2009 09:52 PM

Beginner..

I will come out and completely admit that I'm new at owning a horse. I'm 22 and have only ridden a few horses, but I couldn't pass this horse up, she wasn't being very well taken care of, no attention and for also sentimental reason, I felt she was linked to my husband, he was supposed to get her for me before he died.. May be a stupid reason to get a horse when I don't know them very well.. but I've got to start somewhere, right?

I've worked with her almost every day for almost 4 weeks since I've had her and got on her today and panicked and got right back off. She started throwing her head around and I quickly realized that I wasn't confident at all and I know she sensed that. So I don't want to mess anything up between her and I because she's gotten to where she trusts me to be around her so I'm going to call some places on Monday and start lessons. What are some other ways to gain more of her trust other than riding her until I feel confident in myself to get back on her? I walk her nightly, brush her, and I'm with her for a few hours every night just letting her graze and being near her just so she can get used to me.

Thank you for any suggestions! :-)

Domino13011 08-15-2009 09:55 PM

Make sure your the one that feeds her. Haha she will start to trust you fast ;)

NorthernMama 08-15-2009 10:26 PM

Be patient. You need time to learn and she needs time to adjust to her new environment and owner. I find it takes a horse a full year to be completely secure in a new home, but you will find leaps and bounds of changes in her over the next few months. Especially if she was not well fed. Beware, she may get to be more energetic as her health improves!