The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Other Pets (http://www.horseforum.com/other-pets/)
-   -   House breaking (http://www.horseforum.com/other-pets/house-breaking-341890/)

jackboy 01-07-2014 10:28 AM

House breaking

Need advice on breaking a year and a half old blue heeler to use bathroom outside never tried this before thank you

usandpets 01-07-2014 10:38 AM

When unsupervised, put them where they are to sleep. In a kennel or leashed to an object. As soon as you let them out of their "bedroom", take them outside to go potty. Instinct is not to go where they sleep unless they have to.

Let them outside every hour at first to go and slowly increase how long they are in.
Posted via Mobile Device

beau159 01-07-2014 10:52 AM

I'm not a puppy expert (my husband is) but we've got an 8 week old yellow lab puppy that we have been house training for the past 2 weeks.

We take her outside about every 45 minutes. Anytime she eats or drinks, we take her out shortly after. We'll say "Go outside?" when we are taking her out, so she learns what those words mean. And when she is outside, we will tell her to "Go potty!" so she knows what those words mean too.

At night, she stays in a small kennel. You don't want the kennel too large, because then they will do their business in a corner. If they have to lay in it (in a small kennel), then they won't go. We also make sure she has no food or water after 6 or 7 PM so it's not sitting in her belly when she goes in the kennel for the night.