The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Health (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-health/)
-   -   Horse Injury (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-health/horse-injury-34300/)

HorseExerciser 08-19-2009 07:03 PM

Horse Injury

I started riding this horse named Breezy and about a week after I started riding him I went on vacation for two weeks. When I came back he had developed a fist sized bump on his right shoulder. It is right where the saddle sits, so before I got on him I put as much pressure on the bump as I could with my hand and it doesn't seem to bother him at all. The only thing I noticed was that he would get a little sore on that shoulder after being ridden. So the owner had the vet come out to take a look and the vet said that it could be from my saddle tree, because he was kicked that high, or because he rolled on a rock or something hard. I'm going to ride him in an english saddle next time, but I really don't think it is from my saddle since I had been using it on him before I left without a problem and because it is only on one side. Has anyone had the same problem? If so, how long did it take to go away? Any helpful comments or advice would be appreciated.

MyBoyPuck 08-19-2009 10:28 PM

Is the bump hard or is it gushy and gives way when you push on it? Has it gone down in size at all?

HorseExerciser 08-19-2009 10:35 PM

It's pretty hard, not squishy at all. And it doesn't give way when I push on it at all. Unfortunately it hasn't gone down in a few weeks. I actually thought it got a little more pronounced.

MyBoyPuck 08-19-2009 10:51 PM