The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Riding Critique (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding-critique/)
-   -   critique my english riding!!! (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding-critique/critique-my-english-riding-34531/)

chika1235 08-22-2009 06:46 PM

critique my english riding!!!

4 Attachment(s)
ive been riding western for almost 6 yrs. the only instruction in english riding ive ever had was a week at horse camp and a couple of lessons since then.none of my horses have ever been rode in an english saddle and ive just bought my first all purpose english saddle,my question is what kind of bit should i use on my horses if im just starting out on english?yesterday when i first put on my my saddle and tack and everything i used a tom thumb bit becasue that was what i was using on my horse before and he seemed to be doing good.the horse im riding is lightning a 12 year old arabian gelding that is a very experienced horse and forgave me for whatever i did wrong.here are some pics,(i know i didnt ride with boots on but i couldnt wait to try out the saddle.)any critique or advice to better my english riding would be apreciated.and also i am going to get riding lessons.

chika1235 08-22-2009 06:49 PM

also any help with the stirrup length?does the saddle look like it fits me?

myhorsesonador 08-22-2009 06:53 PM

I'm not very good at this but all I can see is that your sterups(sp?) are way to long.

myhorsesonador 08-22-2009 06:54 PM

haha we posted at the same time :P

SpiritJordanRivers 08-22-2009 08:05 PM

Try Eggbutt Snaffle. I switched from the Tom Thumb bit to the Eggbutt Snaffle on my western horse because I read this article about how confusing the Tom Thumb bit is to the horse and how it distributes uneven pressure and jostles in their mouth and stuff. From what I hear, it's good for both English and Western.