The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Equine Careers and Education (http://www.horseforum.com/equine-careers-education/)
-   -   Anyone done University of Guelph Equine classes? (http://www.horseforum.com/equine-careers-education/anyone-done-university-guelph-equine-classes-345353/)

chelz 01-13-2014 12:24 PM

Anyone done University of Guelph Equine classes?

Hi everybody. I just enrolled this semester in the University of Guelph's online Equine school. I'm taking an Equine Marketing and Communications class this semester and I already love it (this is way more fun than business school, which I had been doing for 4 years! lol.)

I just wondered if anyone has taken U of G courses before and if so, what did you think of them?

Saddlebag 01-13-2014 07:04 PM

It's a top notch school so whatever you take it's going to be good.

ericka9 02-07-2014 06:24 PM

I was thinking of taking courses there but didn't know if it would be worth my time or money. Everything I been reading you really don't get a higher paying job from having a degree.
Wondering what everyone though are on this?

Chasin Ponies 02-08-2014 11:11 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ericka9 (Post 4710953)
I was thinking of taking courses there but didn't know if it would be worth my time or money. Everything I been reading you really don't get a higher paying job from having a degree.
Wondering what everyone though are on this?

Hi Ericka, If you are looking for a job working with horses, please take it from someone who has 'been there, done that', an equine degree earns you absolutely no respect out there in the horse world.
If the online program is extremely inexpensive it may be worth your time just for personal knowledge but it is meaningless in getting a start with horses.
Real horse experience, reputation and credentials are what horse people respect and the equine colleges will never admit that none of their graduates are getting jobs unless they already have a stable at home to go back to.