The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Hoof Care (http://www.horseforum.com/hoof-care/)
-   -   Critique hoof trim? (http://www.horseforum.com/hoof-care/critique-hoof-trim-34797/)

free_sprtd 08-26-2009 09:01 PM

Critique hoof trim?

3 Attachment(s)
This is Thunder's new look after the new farrier trimmed him. What do you think? He does have the rounded toe (mustang roll) and the last picture looks really upright but it's at a little bit of an angle. Also these were taken from cell phone, and hoof was dirty. Thanks!!

smrobs 08-26-2009 10:58 PM

Looks darn good to me. Love that beautiful mustang hoof. ;)

free_sprtd 08-26-2009 10:59 PM

Ya this was his one good foot, the other three have the tiny abscesses lol. Thanks! i was worried it wasn't right because it looked so different than the others that trimmed him, but just guessing that the others were sloppy :)

smrobs 08-26-2009 11:02 PM

Of course, I am far from an expert on barefoot trimming but it looks balanced and well rounded to me. ;p

I didn't know that he had abcesses in all 3 others :O I thought it was just one. That is really odd that he would get them in 3 hooves at once. :?

Spirithorse 08-26-2009 11:05 PM

Excellent trim from what I can tell. I trim my own following Pete Ramey's methods and I love it.

free_sprtd 08-26-2009 11:08 PM