The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Talk (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-talk/)
-   -   4h presentation Ideas (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-talk/4h-presentation-ideas-348001/)

Tangos Girl 01-18-2014 08:41 PM

4h presentation Ideas

I am new to 4h and I have to do a presentation that is 5-10 minuets long. Id like it to be horse related and something that is interesting, not some thing that will bore everyone in the group. Any suggestions are welcome!!!

walkinthewalk 01-18-2014 09:28 PM

Equine colic is something every horse owner can relate to, especially this winter with all the wild temperature swings.

Google credible hits like vets or .edu sites.

I've looked and there diagrams showing the insides of a horse as they pertain to the stomach and colic.

That should be good for about ten minutes max, if you don't use a bunch of flowery adjectives and adverbs.

The diagrams will help everyone else better understand colic and why they need to do their best to avoid it in their horse(s):-)

Ace80908 01-19-2014 06:56 PM

My duaghter did one once on showmanship presentation and the showmanship square. She made a horse out of a saddle stand and some cardboard, and hung the chain from the horse's halter (drawn on the cardboard). She selected another 4h member to be the judge.

She used chalk to draw the square on the ground, and then demonstrated the proper crossing over, how the elbows and body line should look - expression of the exhibitor and (back in the day - don't know if you all still do this) how to answer the judges question and what to do if you don't know the answer.

She got a lot of laughs at her 'horse', but all the kids paid attention and learned something.

Kamakazi 01-20-2014 09:35 AM

Oh the days of horse presentations for 4-H... aka my childhood!