The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Talk (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-talk/)
-   -   Teens teaching beginner lessons? (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-talk/teens-teaching-beginner-lessons-349234/)

WildAtHeart 01-20-2014 04:56 PM

Teens teaching beginner lessons?

Hey all,
I am in my late teens and my two passions are horses and kids. I've really wanted to start teaching kids riding lessons and I was wondering what your opinion on this is?
I don't do top level showing or anything but I know my way around a horse and will be starting a part time job as a horse exercises/trainer. I have been riding for 10 years and babysitting/working with kids for 5.
In my area for a private 1 hour lesson it is about $45 and for a private half hour is $35. I was thinking of charging $25 for an hour or $20 for a half hour. This would include me being there to help with grooming, tacking up/down etc. Does that seem fair? [given that I am not a certified instructor and the lessons would be given at a small family farm]

Thanks
Cait...the hopefully soon-to-be instructor for beginner riders :D

Endiku 01-20-2014 06:58 PM

I don't have a problem with teenaged riding instructors theoretically...many teens are very skilled riders. But the issue I have is that most, if not all, aren't certified or insured, which can be a big problem.

I served as an assistant riding instructor at a farm for a few years (mostly teaching 5-10 year olds in summer camps) but I always had a supervisor even if I was running the lesson myself, and she was certified/insured. The farm and horses were also under insurance, so I was fairly well covered. I did fine, but it was a lot of work and not every parent wants their kid to learn from a teenager.

Would you have someone overseeing you? Who's horses would you use? What would you do if a child was hurt or a parent became angry?

LeLeeB 01-20-2014 08:12 PM

I think that is fair. I hope everything works out for you!

TruGing 01-21-2014 12:53 PM