The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Equine Careers and Education (http://www.horseforum.com/equine-careers-education/)
-   -   Photographer (http://www.horseforum.com/equine-careers-education/photographer-357314/)

Cruiser 02-02-2014 05:53 PM

Photographer

How do you get into being a photographer, be it for magazines, for shows or whatever? I have a friend that is a really good self taught photographer, and have gotten may photos from her that I wish she would have let me pay for. She is going to do a night course, and has many small classes, and has been thinking of doing something as a side job. But she's lost at where to start.

I thought I would ask the managers from the local fairs to see if they would be interested in a photographer being at them (there isn't presently). I know the people that run them and can't see a problem getting permission. But I know she would like to do other things too.

Let me know what you think.

kiltsrhott 02-02-2014 06:17 PM

I think the best way to get into photography professionally is to find an established photographer that is looking for help and work for them. They will give your friend the knowledge and experience to turn their natural talent into professional work and build reputation. Being a professional photographer at shows is more than being able to take some good pictures. You have to be on your game 100% of the time. You have to get a photo of every horse in just the right moment in stride, clear and filling the frame. Professionals who take pictures of hundreds or thousands of horses don't have time to delete blurry or bad pictures. All photos are uploaded onto the website for sale without a second glance. One bad picture can ruin a good reputation so you must be consistently good.