The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Training (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-training/)
-   -   Restarting the older horse... what would you do?? (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-training/restarting-older-horse-what-would-you-35780/)

dominoschica 09-11-2009 06:36 AM

Restarting the older horse... what would you do??

OK.... So I just got a new QH gelding. He is 12 but hasn't been ridden since he was 8. He has been standing in a stall with no turnout for 4 years. He hasn't even had a saddle on in that long...

The guy I got him from said that he put a saddle on him the other day to see what he would do. He said that he just hunched his back like he was going to buck, but never did. But I don't think he let him walk with it or anything, just put it on and took it off...so yea..

Ok, I have lots of experience starting young horses and working problems out of the older/broke ones. But Outlaw is different. Right before his riding came to a screeching halt, he was just being started on cows as a roping horse. So obviously some time ago, he was really, really well broke, as roping horses are. But how much does a horse forget in 4 years? I want to wish that he remembers everything and just hop on like its all a perfect fairytale because I'm so excited, but I know that wouldn't be good. I have ideas on how I'm going to make the process go, I just want to see what you think. What would you do in this situation? Would you take lots of time putting on the saddle, ground driving, etc, like you were starting a fresh youngster? Or would you let him have a few hours with the saddle on, hop on and see what he does?

I pretty much have a plan in my head, but I'm interested to hear some different opinions on how different people would deal with a horse like this. I like reading/listening/watching other people's training ideas and comparing them to my own. :D

hollybee 09-11-2009 07:04 AM