The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Member Journals (http://www.horseforum.com/member-journals/)
-   -   My Journal (http://www.horseforum.com/member-journals/my-journal-36073/)

nirvana 09-15-2009 06:52 PM

My Journal

I guess Ill start off with my riding history. I ride engligh and I mostly do h/j. I have been riding for 3 years, not including when I was 8 and took a months worth of lessons, but didnt get the opprtunity to start again until 12. I have ridden 16 horses, 18 if you include the 2 that I rode when I was 8. I couldnt continue when I was younger for many reasons, when I was 12 I started off at a barn for 6 months before moving to the barn I am at now. I switched because I was put into lessons with somebody below my level (the barn has a waiting list for lessons, so they try to make everybody do group lessons) so I couldnt go back to private lessons. I heard great things about the barn I am at now and I havent looked back! My performance skyrocketed at this barn! Within a few months I was riding at the level of those with a few years experience!

After riding for a year I was asked by somebody near my house if I would like to buy their horse. The lady who owned him had him trained by my instructor, so she had asked my RI if I could handle him, she thought I could. His name is Trooper, he was a 5 year old, chestnut, Quarter horse Gelding. I fell in love instantly! Even though were both green, we work really well together! We do have our ups and downs, so this and my riding lessons are what my journal are going to be about!

I bought Trooper on August 15th and we built a paddock for, him and his companion Sally the Donkey in December of that year! I will tell you more tomorow!

nirvana 09-16-2009 07:46 PM

My Horse, My Life, My Passion