The Horse Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

Frustrated re-rider!!!!!

3K views 20 replies 14 participants last post by  Winterose 
#1 ·
Hi guys,

Just venting here, i have been riding since i was 10, had to take a break for 4 years because of money and am now starting up again, have been riding again for a few months.

When i started again i was working off riding lessons at my barn and still am,, but my instructor told me i was doing great and would be cantering again by this spring cause of how well i was doing....

As of last week this has changed, suddenly i went from perfect to having a chair seat and needing to do a lot of work before i get to cantering again....

What the hell happened!!!!

Now i new something wasn't right and i kept telling her my seat didn't feel right but she kept telling me that my seat was fine.... And now its not and im significantly off from the original track set? What the hell!!!

Thats it really it just venting and feeling frustrated, im hoping soon i will be able to afford lessons and maybe if i actually am paying with. Ash and not labor i will get better lessons

Sent from Petguide.com Free App

See less See more
#2 ·
sadly, there are instructors out there that will keep a student back in their learning/ability somehow to keep the money rolling in. in your case, to keep the free labour rolling in.

i don't know if this is the case with your instructor, or if there really is an issue with your seat and riding position.

what we can do though, is give you feedback on your riding if you post a video. at your next lesson, ask your instructor if you can record the whole lesson. bring a friend to run the camera or prop it on a surface in the arena where you think you'll get the best view of your riding. having a camera person is better though, because they can zoom in and out when you are far/near.

another thought is if you've changed horses or saddles recently? that could explain the change in your position.