The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Talk (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-talk/)
-   -   Opinions on Equine Studies (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-talk/opinions-equine-studies-36260/)

Amba1027 09-18-2009 08:38 PM

Opinions on Equine Studies

I was talking to the woman that owns the barn where I used to ride and I mentioned I wanted to maybe transfer somewhere where I could get a degree in Equine Studies. She basically told me it was a bad idea and not to bother. What do you all think?

M2twisted 09-19-2009 11:47 AM

i have a degree in Equine Science. i learned bunches and had a blast, learned really neat things about other animals as well.

i remember (this was several years ago too) one of my teachers telling me that the equine department did better grade wise than the engineering department, however when graduating, only 16% on equine majors left with jobs...

so i see that as the only downfall

Amba1027 09-19-2009 12:23 PM

Thanks for your input. I think I would have a great time too. I usually hate school but I find everything having to do with horses interesting and I keep wanting to learn more. I think it would be a really good idea for me to do this.

The job thing is kind of what she was talking about but she said no one would care if you had a degree in Equine Studies or not, which I don't think is completely true. I think it depends on what you want to do.