The Horse Forum banner

Newbie to this! Hi from the UK!

Tags
introduce
774 views 3 replies 4 participants last post by  Wild Heart 
#1 ·
Would just like to say hi like everyone else has. :D

I don't have a horse unfortunately as i can't afford :-( I'm 18, i have been riding since I was 5. I had a welsh mountain pony on part loan years ago. I'm studying equine at college at the moment, my best friend of 2 years at college is toby he's on my profile picture he's a gorgeous 15.3hh piebald cob who I'm currently practising for a drill ride with him and my group.

If anyone has any tips of owning a horse like how you do it, (what sort of jobs you have to afford it) thanks :)

P.S i was wondering if anyone in the UK who lives in leek or stoke on trent needs a helping hand on their yard or a riding buddy or knows of any jobs going thanks xx

#2 ·
Welcome to the forum
I'm a fellow Brit who's been living in the US since 2007 - I spent a lot of my life in Staffordshire.
Owning horses doesn't come cheaply but if you can find a job on a good yard there's a chance they'll allow you to keep your own horse there when you do eventually get one.
I hope you're enjoying Equestrian College - its a good way into a career with horses.

#3 ·
Aloha!! I sell my art as my main source of living, but I also started my own company selling vintage clothes online and offering service platforms such as photography, styling and videography. I like this set up because I work from home, make my own hours and I have all day, everyday to spend at the barn. The downside is the income can get really inconsistent. This is when savings make a play!

Good luck on getting your horse!! Oh! Some other cost effective horse tricks; at my barn the BO will buy things like dewormers in bulk, so for example just last week I bought 6 for $25. That's what it costs me for just ONE at the tack store so maybe try looking into stuff like that as well.
Posted via Mobile Device