The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Breeds (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-breeds/)
-   -   best breed for therapy (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-breeds/best-breed-therapy-36577/)

krystin3923 09-22-2009 10:49 PM

best breed for therapy

Hi im krystin
im a college student and going to start using horses as therapy for special education students and possibly handicap people.
basically use them for therapy. to help with a rbroad range of people
and i was wondering opinions on the best breed to use for this therapy.
a horse that is laid back, friendly and can handle stuff like that.

your opinion is greatly appriciated!:-)

LadyDreamer 09-23-2009 12:25 AM

Breed should not be high on your list. My two year old Saddlebred would make a good Therapy horse when he is finished.

Basically you will want a horse with a quiet, friendly, calm disposition. He must be forgiving of mistakes, easy going, and he must know his job well.

JadedEyes 09-23-2009 12:28 AM

To even consider anything like this, you need to be a licensed therapeutic riding instructor. Also, the liabilities involved in doing this would require specific types of insurance in case anyone would be hurt. A lot of parents of children with special needs would be very leary about putting their child into the hands of an unliscened trainer. Also remember, not every potential rider will be a child. Believe me, I am a special education teacher. I work with severe/profound students.

I would suggest, if you are really interested in getting involved with therapeutic riding to contact a center in your area and possibly volunteer there. It would be a great experience and you would learn a lot of things. This will be your best bet and in this case everyone can and will be safe.

I would suggest if at all possible to volunteer at a NARHA Premier Accredited Center.