The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Training (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-training/)
-   -   Groundwork guessing (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-training/groundwork-guessing-36639/)

Mom2ThreeGyrls 09-23-2009 10:01 PM

Groundwork guessing

1 Attachment(s)
Hi, everyone! I'm new to the horseforum community but so glad I've found you guys. I'd like to share with you a bit about me and what my plans are. Then, I would LOVE feedback from you on how you think I should move forward.
I'm 40 yrs old and a novice to horsemanship. We bought 21 acres and built our dream home a year ago. We've been working as we go along to get it to where we want it to be...we have a LONG way to go! :wink: I, like most girls growing up, dreamed of owning a horse and growing up in the saddle. Sadly, that didn't happen but I never lost that desire. Here I am at 40 with a small bit of experience riding horses. We purchased a 7 yo Registered Paint almost 3 years ago. His name is Hootie. He stands around 15.1 or 15.2. He's had no health problems. He was sold as a beginner horse. We did ride him before purchasing him and he rode fine...in an arena. He has no kick or bite except when you tighten the girth on the saddle. He will then turn around and nip in your direction. He has never bucked me off but I wouldn't be surprised if he would try now.
While riding him once we got him home, we found him to be quite "spirited" and a bit pushy. And almost more difficult for me to handle is his speed. He's VERY fast. He respects me to a point but I feel as if it's not where it needs to be. Even though I point out his less desirable traits, we love him very much and we couldn't imagine our home without him.
Well, life became difficult as it sometimes does, and now a year later he hasn't been ridden. Now, I'm where I need him to work. He's a great, young horse that needs something to do other than stand and look pretty in the pasture.