The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Tack and Equipment (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-tack-equipment/)
-   -   Whats your opinion on interchangeable gullets? (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-tack-equipment/whats-your-opinion-interchangeable-gullets-37238/)

kmarie 10-02-2009 11:05 AM

Whats your opinion on interchangeable gullets?

Hha i keep posting things about saddles! but i am a college student and i have about $600-$1000 (hopefully closer to 1000) and i have been riding in the same collegiate saddle for 10 years, so i really think my budget will allow me to get a great used saddle and i want to make the right decision. So, interchangeable gullets? whats the deal? what your opinion on them?

upnover 10-02-2009 02:13 PM

A saddler I know absolutely hates them for anything but light jumping. Wish I could remember exactly what was wrong with them... :) but he basically told me to never ever ever get one. (Then again, I jump about 5 horses a day) I also hear they're a pain to change. But I've never actually used one so I can't give my personal opinion, just pass along info I"ve gotten!

sixlets 10-02-2009 02:44 PM

I have a Wintec that I like for everyday, but they're is a lady at my barn that a leather saddle with interchangeable gullets and she loves it. She's currently using it on a percheron cross mare and somehow it fits her haha. She told me that she's also used it on an arab and loved it still. Hope this helps!

riccil0ve 10-02-2009 05:54 PM

I hear it's a great system. It just helps out when fitting the horses with non-existent withers. If you plan to use the new saddle for multiple horses, or have a horse with no withers, I'd suggest it. I'd be concerned more about the paneling or whatever though. I hear the best things about the Cair system as it doesn't need re-flocking.

I'm just so glad I ended up with a free saddle that fits my horse and I perfectly, haha. =]

Haley 10-02-2009 07:07 PM