The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Eventing (http://www.horseforum.com/eventing/)
-   -   How do i get into eventing? (http://www.horseforum.com/eventing/how-do-i-get-into-eventing-37411/)

spike160194 10-04-2009 05:49 PM

How do i get into eventing?

Hi, my names sarah coupe. I am a 15 year old girl with a huge passion for horses. i have been riding for 8/9 years and couldnt think of a better hobbie. However my parents cannot afford to buy me a horse, and the career i would like to follow is Three Day Eventing. I have a horse on three day loan, but unfortunately she is not quite young enough to get me where i would like to be. I was wondering if anyone had any adivice about eventing yards in South Yorkshire, that are looking for a young talented rider that wants to get ahead in the eventing world. Thanks for any feedback.

cheply 10-05-2009 08:55 PM

Look on google and classifieds websites for your area and just search for instructors for eventing.

Saskia 10-05-2009 11:58 PM

I don't mean to burst your bubble but I honestly wouldn't start of planning a career in Three Day Eventing. Generally you need another job and do eventing on the side as a hobby, and if you become very good at it and work your way up then eventually you can probably have a career in it - although your income will not come fully from winnings. It will be from sponsorship, and probably breeding or training horses to sell on, or being a riding instructor.

Its hard not having your own horse, but at your age (if you really wanted to) you could probably have a casual job and maybe afford to keep a cheap horse. Still, don't put all your eggs in one basket. Ask around at the yards in your area - just give them all a call.

ThatNinjaHorse 10-06-2009 05:54 AM