The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Boarding (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-boarding/)
-   -   Choosing between barns... (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-boarding/choosing-between-barns-37753/)

BaliDoll 10-09-2009 12:21 PM

Choosing between barns...

Alright so I have never been a boarder, I have always been the daughter of the people who OWN the boarding barn, so I always had the best amenities, free of charge. Now, I am looking to bring my gelding from Colorado, in a couple weeks (SO EXCITED) because I have lived here a year, going to school, and been without him and I've honestly gone on depression medication (not all because of the horse thing) but I started riding a horse here and my anxiety/depression have improved even beyond the meds, so my mom wants my horse sent to me now.

anyways, this may be a little long, I'll try to shorten it as best as I can.

The first option is this place I found near where I am riding Chip (the horse I'm exercising for someone who is too busy). It's really nice, but expensive. $400 for pasture boarding, you'd be out of your ever loving MIND in Colorado charging that much- and there they get GRASS! I love the facility though. I do mostly western however, and I haven't seen a single western rider there... all dressage and jumpers. Do most barns welcome people who are different? I know when I was a kid we got a bunch of dressage people who leased two barns at my moms place and my friend and I made fun of them lol, but I since have grown up and realize it's amazing... so hopefully people show respect in disciplines? Or would they be bothered having me there?
I don't like the pasture much...(pics)
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v1...DSC00102-1.jpghttp://img.photobucket.com/albums/v1...l/DSC00105.jpg