The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Western Riding (http://www.horseforum.com/western-riding/)
-   -   Reining/Cutting :] (http://www.horseforum.com/western-riding/reining-cutting-%5D-38067/)

ilovemyPhillip 10-13-2009 09:26 AM

Reining/Cutting :]

Hey!

I've been riding English/Hunter/Jumper for 4 years, but I think I would be interested in reining or cutting. I'm actually asking you all Virginians if you know a Ranch that gives lessons at all (since this is a hunter district). Anything is much aprechiated and I will come back here with questions/comments :).

So basically, uneeded topic for the moment haha.

Anny

Kentucky 10-13-2009 12:05 PM

Check with The NCHA National Cutting Horse Association , The NRHA NRHA - National Reining Horse Association , and the AQHA www.aqha.com/ They will have a list of ranches and trainers in your area. If you can also check with other stock horse associations APHA APHA.Com - Welcome to the Association and the appaloosas Welcome to the Official Web site of the Appaloosa Horse Club or American Appaloosa Assocation, Inc.

nrhareiner 10-13-2009 12:37 PM

Also NRCHA. Each has a list of trainers however check out what local affiliates are in your area. Some trainers will advertise in their affiliate but not on the national association.

ilovemyPhillip 10-13-2009 04:55 PM

Thanks, Eddie, and nrhareiner!

thr610 10-27-2009 04:47 PM

Cutting is a great discipline to get involved with but it can get quite pricey! Reining is also great, also challenging but more affordable due to the fact you dont have to pay for cows, etc :)

I suggest getting into either, they are both really fun!

equiniphile 10-27-2009 05:17 PM

I've been riding Western since I was born lol. Only ridden English at a second grade riding camp XD. I'm actually going to learn reining at my uncle's reining ranch in Colorado next summer and can't wait! So ya, I'm not exactly taking lessons locally as I'm in Ohio.

nrhareiner 10-27-2009 07:15 PM

Quote: