The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Dressage (http://www.horseforum.com/dressage/)
-   -   Super nervous about the clinic today! (http://www.horseforum.com/dressage/super-nervous-about-clinic-today-38167/)

eventerwannabe 10-14-2009 02:27 PM

Super nervous about the clinic today!

Going to a clinic today, riding big Bear boy in it. I have ridden with my aunt, Kim Mcguire, before, but for some reason I am totally freaked (doesnt help that I am a baby beginner at dressage [so is Bear] and my aunt is a GP dressage rider])! I think I am mostly nervous about my mounting this time. I mean, Bear is perfect for mounting, but I just havent been able to get over my fall off Maddie. I am getting better though! :D

My last ride on Bear was awesome. I did dressage, just walk trot and a tiny bit of canter. He was streching down (which is something that he normally doesnt do) and was using himself alright, better then normal. I will post something in the critique form after I get back from the clinic. I will also post pictures on this thread when I get back.

I have to walk to the clinic with Bear, HA! Its only a five minute walk, if that, but it is raining out. ): I am going to put his fleecey over his saddle and then put a rain sheet over that. Me? I am going to be wearing my new Eous 5 in 1 jacket. It is amazing and keeps me super warm.

I am the first lesson of the day, which is good and bad for me, haha. I am going to stay after my lesson and watch other people ride and video tape for people who want me to. I love watching other peoples lessons, as you can learn soooo much! My old trainer will be there, which is good and bad. We had a super bad falling out this last summer and arent really on speaking terms, so this will be interested. But I am going to just kill her with kindness and just be myself.

So this is my plan for the day:

At 12:00 go out and catch Bear.
From 12:00-12:30ish tack up
From 12:30-12:45 walk to barn and untack Bear