The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Technology (http://www.horseforum.com/technology/)
-   -   Spell check and FF 5.0 (http://www.horseforum.com/technology/spell-check-ff-5-0-a-38990/)

iridehorses 10-26-2009 06:39 AM

Spell check and FF 5.0
 
Well the problem with the finger ID worked out on FireFox but I still can't get spell checker to work. It will identify the misspelled word but not offer a correction. I just downloaded another checker (spellbound) but the icon for spelling is still not in the upper right corner of the "post new thread" screen as it should be and if I right click the misspelled word, nothing happens.

That is why I'm still using IE which I dislike.

equiniphile 10-26-2009 11:08 AM

I use Firefox also, instead of IE, and Firefox identifies my spellcheck whenever I type....like right now. To turn it on, right click inside your message box (when you go to post a new message) and make sure 'Check Spelling' is checked. If it isn't, check it.

iridehorses 10-26-2009 01:23 PM

Thanks equiiphile, unfortunately right clicking inside the message box does nothing - that's part of the problem.

Jehanzeb 10-28-2009 04:27 AM

Morning, It is quite strange that you are still having problems with the firefox spell check.

Did you try reinstalling Firefox? Uninstall Firefox fully, including taking off folders from Program Files after uninstalling it.

Additionally, did you try installing Google toolbar to your Firefox? That allows you to "spell check while you type".

Please do let us know if you have the done above, if still having problems I will try and find out a solution to your problem :D.

Regards

iridehorses 10-28-2009 04:08 PM

I don't think installing the Google toolbar is going to help. FireFox is recognizing misspelled words, but when I right click on them, nothing happens.

Jehanzeb 10-29-2009 10:10 AM

Hello, try this method perhaps this might work.

"The Yahoo Toolbar can cause that. And AVG Safe Search is also a suspect.
Look in Tool > Options > Extensions, click both of those, click Disable, click Restart Firefox. Test.
If right click now works, turn re-enable one at a time, restart Firefox and test to find the culprit." - Source []right click menu does not work when online, no spellcheck, cut, paste.


Please let us know if this doesn't help. I will try and search another answer for your query. In the meantime could you please tell us what version of Firefox are you using?


Regards

iridehorses 10-29-2009 11:21 AM

There is no "Extensions" in Options.

EDIT: Found the "Extensions". I had to go deeper and find it in the plugins. Problem solved!!! Thanks Jahanzeb - as usual.

Jehanzeb 10-29-2009 11:43 AM

I am happy that I could help :D.

Regards


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:23 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0