The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Health (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-health/)
-   -   A rather difficult question... (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-health/rather-difficult-question-39860/)

SSH Farm 11-05-2009 06:01 PM

A rather difficult question...

Hi all,

I am new to horseforums.com, and my name is Jill. I am sorry to have to make this one my first post, but I have a tough question to ask. Next week, we are having one of our geriatric horses put down :(. He is extremely close with one other horse here, and we have been struggling with how to handle the situation. We introduced another horse to the two that are buddies in an effort to get our geriatric's buddy accustomed to another horse. So far, everyone is getting along well, but I want to have your opinions on a theory I have heard.

I have heard from more than one person that if one horse is particularly close to another, it is best to have that horse's buddy present at the time of euthanasia. Some say this helps the buddy "come to terms" with the loss more easily. I have had to euthanize horses before and have never used this method. However, I have never had a situation with two horses as close as these two before either! What are your opinions on it? Do you believe it to be better for two horses that are very buddy sour rather than simply separating the two at the time? I want this to be as peaceful an experience for the two of them as possible, though it will be very hard on us all. :( Thank you for your input; it is greatly appreciated!

~Jill at SSHF

kchfuller 11-05-2009 06:30 PM

Welcome to the forum!

So i have never heard of this having the buddy there at the time. Maybe call your vet or whoever is going to put the horse down and ask them. I am sorry for your impending loss :(

SSH Farm 11-05-2009 06:39 PM