The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Health (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-health/)
-   -   Abcess Blowout Question (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-health/abcess-blowout-question-40346/)

BeauGeniusBaby 11-11-2009 04:30 PM

Abcess Blowout Question

I have a mare who had a stone bruise which eventually blew out as an abcess on the bottom of her hind hoof between the sole and the hoof wall. She ended up losing a part of the hoof wall that it came out besides and now her hooves are growing out.. but the gap remains.
What needs to be done about this and how long should i expect this opening to be there?

I'm worried it will get infected although it hasnt yet its just a really odd and susceptible spot for dirt to pack.

My farrier said he'd probably treat and shoe her back feet to keep the debris out of it. is this adequate?

shatalkua 11-11-2009 04:47 PM

well im no profession talk to your vet

they do have shoes that have a rubber to keep stuff out of the hoof that may help. its hard to say without actually seeing it though. you dont want to put something on it that will irritate it and not let it heal properly. your vet should know what to do, healing will only take time. its very possible you can use some sort of ointment (from your vet) and just keep it bandaged till it heals, washing it everyday. but like i said its hard to say without actually seeing it. my advice is talking to your vet, i know theyre expensive but when it comes to serious stuff it can be worth it sometimes. hope i helped

mindyme 11-11-2009 06:52 PM