The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Shows (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-shows/)
-   -   I have decided I want to show...now what do I do? (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-shows/i-have-decided-i-want-show-41360/)

Semperfiwife 11-25-2009 10:15 AM

I have decided I want to show...now what do I do?

I was in a bad accident back in April with my horse. I have started ridding again and I'm not getting anywhere fast because I don't have a goal. Our trainer has said Gracie would be good at an open show where you do walk, trot, and canter. That is almost a foriegn language to me. I have only done trail ridding and I've never even been around the show ring. Can anyone help me? Are there other shows we could do? I know I'm limited because she's a mutt.
http://i209.photobucket.com/albums/b...g?t=1259162112

ChevyPrincess 11-25-2009 10:59 AM

She is so pretty! I am new to show thing too. I have only been in one, and it was an open show, entree was free. Breed didn't matter. Lol. I would start out doing open local shows. I showed my old gelding in horsemanship and showmanship. There were only 3 people in my class, so it was a fun and friendly expierence.

But now I have a registered horse, so we will see what I can do xD

ridergirl23 11-28-2009 08:28 PM

ive been showing for like, 3 or 4 years now. its so much fun and such a good experience! yours horse is beautiful, i am a dressage rider, so i dont really know any other shows/classes you could enter. lol but good luck and have fun!! and remember: dont get stressed! its just a show! be proud of you and yoru horse but make sure you smile to the other competitiors...its better to have friends then enemies! :)

equus717 11-28-2009 08:38 PM

2 Attachment(s)