The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Training (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-training/)
-   -   Internship? same.. (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-training/internship-same-41935/)

LoveTheSaddlebreds 12-03-2009 08:22 PM

Internship? same..

I've been thinking about this for a while, but didn't think it was possible until I saw Shananigan's post.

I've been riding for 12 years, I've trained 3 horses, two with help and one by myself. I also own a mare who, when I bought her, was a green 4yo that bucked a lot and she is now perfect. I can ride any discipline, but I specialize in English (any form of jumping or u/s), dressage, saddleseat and western. I'm also good at driving, and a ok at sidesaddle - but not great.

So far, I have 'volunteered' at a barn where I've given lessons, helped give lessons, was a camp counselor twice and I've worked and trained their horses.

I'm experienced with green, problemed, and hot horses. I've worked Off track and racing thoroughbreds, worked with hot arabians and saddlebreds, and I've also worked with abused horses.

I've given shots before, helped medicate (eyes, wounds etc) I've ultrasounded a horse a few times (eck), and I've assisted in surgery.. sort of. lol

I have a very good history with working with horses and I was wondering about a trainer internship. What kind of jobs and lessons could I get? Who would hire me? When could I start training? etc etc.

Marecare 12-03-2009 09:14 PM

Lets just play make believe here for a while.
I am all about encouraging young folks to to get involved and get out there and learn more about horses.

If you lived across the street from my place,you could come on over and "Hang out" and just mess around as the horses were worked each day and pick up a lot of information about this kind of riding.

If you got good at doing the things that make the ranch run,then I would be asking you to drop on by for a specific job or jobs and I would pay you for that work.