The Horse Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

Tips for Working Horses Alone

4K views 23 replies 13 participants last post by  lolayla 
#1 ·
I have been working horses since I was 12 years old. Most of the time I work horses by myself, and (knock on wood) have not gotten into trouble. I do keep my cell phone in my pocket all the time, but this does not help if you are knocked out cold. Last year in my community, a woman was seriously injured at a barn. She was alone, knocked unconscious, and was at the mercy of people finding her, which was several hours after her accident. In trauma, time is of the essence. This got me thinking about my own safety practices. For all of you who work horses alone, what things do you try to assure safety? Have you been in situations where you were alone, something happened, and you were screwed until help arrived?

#2 ·
I feed and work horses on my own nearly everyday. I always take a phone, and I normally write a note saying where I am, what I'm doing and what time I expect to be back.
There's not much you really can do except let people be aware of what your doing and where you are.

#3 ·
I don't have anyone to ride with. (not many horse people my age around our parts) I have a phone carrier and keep my phone in there. Really isn't much else to do besides let your family/friends know your general riding area and how long you expect to be gone.

I've had a horse literally flip end over end with me on out in the middle of nowhere. We were both pretty p*ssed and sore so I walked us a mile or two back to the house.

#5 ·
I have always worked my horses alone. I actually enjoy working alone and riding alone. I don't ever really think about getting that hurt, although I have.

One of the worst things that happened to me though was that I accidently locked myself in my horse's stall. The only way out was to literally climb the wall and go over the top, which freaked out my horse, but I did it.