The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Other Pets (http://www.horseforum.com/other-pets/)
-   -   Best age to neuter a dog? (http://www.horseforum.com/other-pets/best-age-neuter-dog-429034/)

myhorseisthebest 06-12-2014 02:48 PM

Best age to neuter a dog?

I have a border collie lad mix puppy and I was wonder at what age should I get him neutered? I was thinking 5 or 6 months, but I am not an expert at this dog stuff.
Posted via Mobile Device

ZombieHorseChick 06-12-2014 02:55 PM

For me, I get it done around 5-6 months, but it depends on the person and their preference, some think it's to young, others say it's good, and some are worried about a cancer risk in Larger dog breeds( that hasn't actually been proven)
My family has always had a furry friend or two on the property. I even got deep into dog training when I got a puppy 4 years ago ^_^

"In my experience, dogs neutered under 6 months develop less obesity and don’t establish some of the “male” behaviors that neutering is meant to treat. They are also less likely to jump a fence, fight, or get hit by a car."-Cesar Millan- pro dog trainer.

Read more: http://www.cesarsway.com/askthevet/b...#ixzz34S78ieqg
Posted via Mobile Device

myhorseisthebest 06-12-2014 03:13 PM

Thanks! Here another thing, his balls haven't really dropped down yet, does that matter?
Posted via Mobile Device

TessaMay 06-12-2014 03:19 PM

I, too, like to do it between 5-6 months. The pup I have now was done at 2 months by the shelter, because they didn't want him to go to a home with the possibility of not being neutered. I personally think that's a bit young, but there are no proven side effects of doing it young.