The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Breeds (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-breeds/)
-   -   A Color Question... (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-breeds/color-question-44655/)

jiblethead 01-08-2010 11:12 PM

A Color Question...

2 Attachment(s)
Today I was on Wikipedia looking to see what kind of Paint my horse (Havana) was. But I could not fidgure it out! She has a little of each one and dosen't match any of them all the way. So Paint people I need your help, what kind of Paint in my horse? She is black and white, but mostly white. She has a mixed mane and tail, and white hooves. She has a black face with a white snip. It's probably really easy; I'm just not a color expert ;) Here are some pictures to help:

Snowkicker 01-08-2010 11:34 PM

She appears to be a tobiano, Though it is possible she might be a tovero because of the extent of the white and the white chin.

jiblethead 01-08-2010 11:40 PM

See that what I thought!...She only has a long white strip on her chin. It dosen't go very far, as the picture kind of looks like that.

Snowkicker 01-09-2010 12:06 AM

When they have that much white on them it is quite possible they carry both patterns. The edges of Overo markings are jagged and Tobiano are smooth. The Horse on my profile is a Tovero. He is very minimally marked. His father also a Tovero that looked a lot like your mare just a little more white on the face and a blue eye. It would be interesting to see how her parents were marked.

kassierae 01-09-2010 12:21 AM

Looks like Tobiano mixed with splash and/or sabino. Sabino causes the chin white, and splash can also cause it.

deuceschinagirl 01-09-2010 06:57 AM

2 Attachment(s)
This horse is a tobiano. I seen plenty of regitered paints with markings like yours that were classified as Tobianos. Here is are 2 photos of my horse who is also a tobiano.

Eastowest 01-09-2010 07:23 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by deuceschinagirl (Post 516550)