The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Riding Critique (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding-critique/)
-   -   Riding Discipline HELP! (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding-critique/riding-discipline-help-44753/)

JessicaGDA 01-10-2010 02:17 AM

Riding Discipline HELP!

Alright, so I am fairly new to riding, I've been riding for about a year or so. I don't own a horse, I've just been riding lesson horses for this year. I've started learning Western, never have ridden English, but English- Show Jumping and Dressage really interests me a lot. But I also like Western a lot, not sure what to do now, or where to go from here.

What would you recommend? Do you think I should change riding styles, or learn both? What is your favorite riding style and competition? I would also like some facts about them both from a rider themselves on both disciplines.

Just super confused about what to do now! Thanks ahead! :D

horseluver250 01-10-2010 09:26 AM

If you are able to, why not try both then you can decide what you like better (or just continue to ride both!). I ride both english and western. I learned to ride english, so it was pretty easy to change to western. I think it might be harder to adjust to and english saddle after learning western.

ETA: wanted to ad that I have never actually shown western, only trail riding and some gaming for fun. I grew up eventing, foxhunting, playing polocrosse, and competed quite a bit in mounted games with the pony club.

RachelAlexandra 01-10-2010 12:23 PM

I say, learn both! Why not? I ride English and I love Dressage and Show-jumping, but not so much eventing, so I just do two disciplinces seperatly. I also love playing polocrosse, trail ride and work with race horses.

JessicaGDA 01-10-2010 10:43 PM

That's a good idea. Thank you both.
I would have to go to a different barn though to learn English- Dressage and Jumping though. That's why I've been kind of confused and "stuck" on what to do!

Tasia 01-10-2010 10:59 PM