The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Training (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-training/)
-   -   How Do I Get My Horse To Collect? (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-training/how-do-i-get-my-horse-44963/)

mandik92 01-12-2010 01:32 PM

How Do I Get My Horse To Collect?

Hello ^_^
i have a 17yr old mare who has never been trained to collect (go on the bit) and i want to use her for showing and need her to collect. can someone please tell me how?
thank-you <3

Scoutrider 01-12-2010 01:59 PM

Firstly, collection and on-the-bit are 2 different things (any more experienced dressage rider please correct me if I'm wrong on that, I'm still learning this myself). The quality of being on the bit (or on the aids) is acceptance of the bit and rein aids, as well as all of the other aids: leg, seat, voice, etc. Collection is the culmination of the dressage training scale, and will sort of just fall together when you have all of the steps before it mastered (Rhythm, suppleness, contact, impulsion, straightness). It is not something that can be taught, the way a horse can learn that pressure from one leg means move sideways. If your mare doesn't collect, it is probably because she is lacking in one or more of the steps of the training scale.

Here is an excellent article about putting the horse on the bit that I've found very helpful: The Art of Classical Riding--On the Bit I know it's a pretty dressage-specific article, but the principles hold for correctly riding on the bit in any discipline.

RedTree 06-14-2011 01:29 AM

umm how would saddle companies help?

I like Scoutriders post though :)

If you need any more help just search through the old posts for something like collection, going on the bit there is bound to be millions

RedTree 06-14-2011 01:31 AM

okay just relized this thread was old

lillied13 06-15-2011 03:27 PM

This might be an old post, but that article was actually really helpful :P